# The Episcopal Diocese of Western Louisiana

# 46<sup>th</sup> Annual Diocesan Convention

Best Western Inn and Conference Center, Alexandria, LA April 5, 2025

# **COMMITTEES OF CONVENTION**

## Credentials and Privileges:

The Rev. Laurent De Prins, Chair The Rev. Madge McLain

#### Courtesy:

The Rev. Deacon Michael Parham, Chair The Rev. Benjamin George-Thoms Arielle Latiolais

#### Resolutions:

The Rev. Canon Suzanne Wolfenbarger, Chair The Rev. Michael Cannon The Rev. Dr. Mitzi George Mary Shaddock Jones Andrew Texada Courtney Smith

## Dispatch of Business:

The Rev. Michael Bordelon

#### Elections:

The Rev. John Bedingfield, Chair The Rev. Shelley Martin The Rev. Rob Harkness The Rev. Countess West Josh Brown Marianne White

## Necrology:

The Rev. Dawnell Stodghill

# **DESCRIPTION OF COMMITTEE WORK**

**DISPATCH OF BUSINESS**: This Committee is responsible for presenting the Agenda for Convention to the assembled body for approval; and for coordinating any subsequent revisions with the Bishop during Convention.

CREDENTIALS AND PRIVILEGES: Members of this committee should be at the registration area on Saturday ready to certify to the Chair of Convention, the number present in each order (lay and ordained). Early on the Convention Agenda, the Chair of the Committee will be called upon to report the presence of a quorum. Seat and voice are given to the Treasurer, Chancellor, Chair of the Diocesan Committee on Conventions, and others who may be deemed necessary by the bishop.

**ELECTIONS:** This Committee handles the elections, and the Chair provides Convention with instructions for the balloting process. To be elected this year: one lay Standing Committee member from the Acadiana Convocation and one cleric from the Lake Charles Convocation, a cleric trustee to Sewanee: The University of the South, and Disciplinary Board (1 clergy required). The deputation who will represent our diocese at the 2027 General Convention will also be elected. The deputation consists of 4 members of the clergy and 4 members of the laity. An alternate in each order will be chosen based on number of votes received. The Elections Committee does not make the nominations as they come through the Bishop's Office. The Elections Committee does oversee the balloting process, and the Chair reports the results to Convention when recognized by the bishop.

**RESOLUTIONS:** This Committee considers all resolutions that would not routinely be referred to some other Committee of Convention. All Resolutions of Substance (thus excluding Resolutions of Courtesy) must be submitted to the Secretary of Convention no later than 8:00 a.m. on the first regular day of business. Such resolutions must be submitted in writing and accompanied by 200 printed copies of the resolution and any necessary supporting materials for distribution to all voting delegates.

**COURTESY:** This Committee prepares the Courtesy Resolutions for a late order of business on the agenda, thanking and honoring those for whom special recognition and remembrance are felt to be important to the gathered Convention.

**NECROLOGY:** This Committee receives the names for the Necrology Report and makes their report on the faithful departed within the context of the opening Eucharist of Convention. Clergy and select Wardens of parishes and missions were sent online forms for submission of the names to be included, with the request that lists be inputted by March 6, 2025.